In the card game of Rummy, all players start with the same number of cards and the aim is to fill your hand such that all cards are in exactly one meld. Each individual meld is composed of 3 or 4 cards and can each can be completed two ways: cards of the same number/court or consecutive cards of the same suit. (This would mean you have a meld of 3 and a meld of 4 in 7 card rummy and 2 melds of 3 and a meld of 4 in 10 card rummy.) Each individual ace can count as higher than a king or lower than a 2, but not both. (This means K, A, 2 is not allowed.)
What are the probabilities of being dealt a winning hand when: (Note that all decks are without jokers)
- Playing seven card rummy with one deck?
- Playing seven-card rummy with two decks?
- Playing ten-card rummy with one deck?
- Playing ten-card rummy with two decks?
- One of the cards was inadvertantly dropped on the floor before dealing for seven-card rummy?
When I play rummy, the rule we have is that any meld must have AT LEAST 3 members in it. This doesn’t mean much in 7-card rummy, because you either have 3+4, or you have a 7 card run (which can technically be separated in 3 and 4 card runs).
However, in 10-card rummy, my rule doesn’t restrict me to having 3+3+4. I could have 3+7, 4+6, or 5+5 as well. Are these cases not allowed in this problem? I wasn't sure if your statement "2 melds of 3 and a meld of 4 in 10 card rummy" was an example or a rule.
Posted by nikki
on 2005-01-07 18:31:35