All about flooble | fun stuff | Get a free chatterbox | Free JavaScript | Avatars    
perplexus dot info

Home > Probability
Fateful Fickle Fifteen (Posted on 2005-03-24) Difficulty: 3 of 5
There is a bag with balls numbered 1 to 9. Two players take turns at randomly taking a ball from the bag. If a player gets three balls that sum fifteen, he wins. Getting fifteen with more or less balls doesn't count.

What are the odds of the first player winning? Of a draw?

See The Solution Submitted by Old Original Oskar!    
Rating: 4.0000 (1 votes)

Comments: ( Back to comment list | You must be logged in to post comments.)
No Subject | Comment 3 of 8 |

"Getting fifteen with more or less balls doesn't count". It means that only counts the three first balls for each player?

If is like that, a possible way is: as the first playing wins in the fifth ball, his possibility of winning is the possibility of forming numbers of five digits in which the digits one, three and five totalized 15. Which is 0.055 (perhaps: my maths are full of dust) .


  Posted by armando on 2005-03-24 19:23:35
Please log in:
Login:
Password:
Remember me:
Sign up! | Forgot password


Search:
Search body:
Forums (0)
Newest Problems
Random Problem
FAQ | About This Site
Site Statistics
New Comments (1)
Unsolved Problems
Top Rated Problems
This month's top
Most Commented On

Chatterbox:
Copyright © 2002 - 2018 by Animus Pactum Consulting. All rights reserved. Privacy Information