All about flooble | fun stuff | Get a free chatterbox | Free JavaScript | Avatars    
perplexus dot info

Home > Probability
Pick a box! (Posted on 2002-03-28) Difficulty: 3 of 5
You are shown three boxes, and told that one of them contains a prize. You are then asked to pick one box, and if that box is the one with the prize, you will win it. After picking a box, you are shown that one of the other two boxes is empty, and offered a chance to change your selection.

Should you do this? Would changing your choice to the other remaining box affect your odds of winning? Why or why not?

See The Solution Submitted by levik    
Rating: 4.2857 (14 votes)

Comments: ( Back to comment list | You must be logged in to post comments.)
Disagree with solution! | Comment 27 of 42 |

Here is why.  Your odds of being correct initially is 1/3.  Changing your choice does not change the fact that there is still 1 box with a prize and 2 without.

By showing you an incorrect box the odds ARE increased to 1/2 that you will get the prize, (Since now there is 1 box with a prize and 1 without)  but the HOST by showing you an incorrect box is increasing your odds of the prize, not YOU by changing your choice.

Therefore NO, you should not change your choice.

(capitals for emphasis not yelling)

Edited on March 2, 2005, 4:19 pm
  Posted by john on 2005-03-02 16:18:09

Please log in:
Login:
Password:
Remember me:
Sign up! | Forgot password


Search:
Search body:
Forums (0)
Newest Problems
Random Problem
FAQ | About This Site
Site Statistics
New Comments (1)
Unsolved Problems
Top Rated Problems
This month's top
Most Commented On

Chatterbox:
Copyright © 2002 - 2024 by Animus Pactum Consulting. All rights reserved. Privacy Information